Till startsida
University of Gothenburg
To content Read more about how we use cookies on gu.se

QoG Best Paper Award winner

News: Feb 04, 2020


We are very happy to announce that the 2018-2019 Quality of Government Best Paper Award goes to Paola Proietti (Gran Sasso Science Institute, L’Aquila, Italy) and Davide Luca (Bennett Institute of Public Policy, Cambridge University) for the paper “Hosting to skim. Organized Crime and the Reception of Asylum Seekers in Italy”.

In their paper, the authors demonstrate how local mafia activity is associated with the distribution of asylum seeker reception centers across Italy. Particularly relevant to the QoG agenda are the causal mechanisms that are offered (and subsequently tested) for the observed relationship namely, low administrative capacity and the vulnerability of public procurement to corrupt activity. The authors test their expectations using sophisticated analyses, novel sets of data and a combination of qualitative and quantitative methods. They add to the robustness of their findings by instrumenting organized crime intensity using data on sulphur mines and agricultural features such as the conduciveness of the land to the cultivation of citruses, factors that historically have been related to the presence of the mafia in specific areas of Italy.

Their work speaks to a variety of literature from regional development, to human trafficking, research on immigration and potentially voting studies as well. Their findings have implications related not only to national but also funding flows from the European Union. As such their paper represents an important and unique contribution that can carry policy implications in what is, admittedly, one of the most pressing challenges facing the EU and other parts of the world. Finally, through this contribution Proietti and Luca further our understanding about the consequences of low quality of government and weak state capacity at the national and local level and again provide clues as to where policy makers should focus in order to halt or reverse these trends.

The Committee Members:

Stephen Dawson (PhD Candidate)
Marcia Grimes (Associate Professor)
Lena Wängnerud (Professor)
Georgios Xezonakis (Associate Professor)

BY: Alice Johansson

Page Manager: Alice Johansson|Last update: 2/21/2018

The University of Gothenburg uses cookies to provide you with the best possible user experience. By continuing on this website, you approve of our use of cookies.  What are cookies?